This report was a team effort involving many experts, who were incredibly generous with their time and knowledge. Literally hundreds of individuals around the world shared their knowledge with us in long interviews. Others read and commented in great detail on various drafts along the way, or dug deeply into the numbers and analyses on which this report rests. While we cannot acknowledge all of these essential contributors, we would like to express our very special appreciation to those who worked with us throughout the entire process:

The sponsors of the work, and members of the steering committee:

  • Scott Burns (Walton Family Foundation)
  • Barry Gold (Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation)
  • Walt Reid and Lisa Monzón (David and Lucile Packard Foundation)
  • Tris Lewis (Oak Foundation)

The advisory committee:

  • Ana Parma (Centro Nacional Patagonico)
  • Boris Worm (Dalhousie University)
  • Charlotte Mogensen (Danish Ministry of the Environment)
  • Christopher Costello (UCSB)
  • David Schorr (WWF)
  • Diane Regas (EDF)
  • Eric Beinhocker (London School of Economics)
  • Ichiro Nomura (FAO, former)
  • Jim Cannon (Sustainable Fisheries Partnership)
  • Jos Pet (Pet Norton Consulting)
  • Lawrence Mee (Scottish Association for Marine Science)
  • Marea Hatziolos (World Bank)
  • Martin Hall (Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission)
  • Michael Lodge (Marine Stewardship Council)
  • Mike Park (Scottish White Producer’s Association)
  • Ray Hilborn (University of Washington)
  • Robert Gillet (Gillet/Preston Associates)
  • Steve Gaines (UCSB)
  • Victor Restrepo (International Seafood Sustainability Foundation)

The biological modeling team:

  • Christopher Costello, Steve Gaines, Sarah Lester, Dan Ovando, Corbett Grainger (UCSB/Eco-Analytics)

The economic modeling team:

  • Lothar Stein, Sheila Bonini, Nakul Saran, Alissa Peterson (McKinsey and Company); and Kent Strauss (EDF)

The catch share experts:

  • Kate Bonzon, Diane Regas, Pam Baker (EDF)

We are grateful to the many individuals from these organizations who provided feedback or attended a feedback session:

  • Blue Ocean Institute
  • BirdLife International
  • California Ocean Science Trust
  • Center for Ocean Solutions
  • Prince’s Charities’ International Sustainability Unit
  • Communication Partnership for Science and the Sea
  • Conservation International
  • Deep Sea Conservation Coalition
  • Ecotrust
  • Environmental Defense Fund
  • Greenpeace
  • Gulf of Maine Research Institute
  • International Seafood Sustainability Foundation
  • International Union for Conservation of Nature
  • J. M. Kaplan Fund
  • Marine Fish Conservation Network
  • Marine Stewardship Council
  • Meridian Institute
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium
  • National Geographic Society’s Ocean Initiative
  • Natural Resources Defense Council
  • Nature Conservancy
  • New Economics Foundation
  • Ocean Conservancy
  • Ocean Studies Board
  • Oceana
  • Pew Charitable Trusts
  • Royal Society for the Protection of Birds
  • SeaWeb
  • Sustainable Fisheries Partnership
  • Waitt Foundation
  • Wildlife Conservation Society
  • Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
  • World Resources Institute
  • World Wildlife Fund

A summary of comments can be found here. More detailed comments and CEA’s responses are available upon request.

Special thanks to Antonius Gagern (Autonomous University of Barcelona) for his major contributions.

While we emphatically could not have done this without massive help from these friends, all errors in our report remain our own.